U.S. Mint announces design competition for 2018 World War I silver dollar

Legislation authorizes production, release of 350,000 coins
By , Coin World
Published : 02/01/16
Text Size

The United States Mint announced details Feb. 1 for an open design competition from which designs will be selected for the 2018 World War I American Veterans Centennial silver dollar.

The enabling legislation, Public Law 113-212, calls for production and release of up to 350,000 silver dollars combined in Proof and Uncirculated condition.

The design competition is open to U.S. citizens and permanent residents 18 years of age or older. "Employees of the United States Mint, the U.S. Department of the Treasury, and members of the jury and their families are not eligible for this competition," according to the competition rules.

Connect with Coin World:  

The competition is divided into two phases. During Phase I, which runs Feb. 29 through April 28, artists are requested to submit their contact information and three to five samples of their work via electronic media using the online form.

For Phase II, U.S. Mint officials indicate, up to 20 applicants will be asked to create and submit designs and plasters for the final coin. The applicants selected for Phase II will be notified May 31, and they will have a deadline of July 31 to submit the required designs and plaster models.

The winner will be announced in January 2017.

No designs submitted during Phase II will be considered for the final designs unless accompanied by plaster models.

"Invited artists will be paid a fee of $1,000 for this work [Phase II] and will be eligible to receive an additional $10,000 (and have their initials appear on the coin) if the artist’s design is ultimately selected," according to the contest rules. "All Phase Two designs must be accompanied by a completed and signed Rights Transfer Agreement that will be provided by the United States Mint with the invitation."

The final design selection will be made following review by the seven-member juried panel chaired by the Treasury secretary. The remaining six members represent three members selected by the membership of the Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee and three by the Commission of Fine Arts.

You are signed in as:null
No comments yet