How many mints are there in the U.S.?

Six facilities contribute to the U.S. Mint’s national operations, according to the Mint’s website. 

The Mint has four production facilities: in Philadelphia, Denver, San Francisco and West Point, N.Y. In addition, the United States Bullion Depository in Fort Knox, Ky., is operated by the U.S. Mint; and the U.S. Mint headquarters is located in Washington, D.C. 

The different production facilities are responsible for differing products. The Denver facility, for example, mostly produces coins for general circulation, while the San Francisco facility currently produces commemorative and other collector coins.

More information about the Mint’s facilities is posted online

Community Comments