2016 Netherlands coins in ongoing series honor UNESCO site

First Dutch commemoratives of 2016 feature new coining technology
By , Coin World
Published : 05/26/16
Text Size

The first Dutch commemorative coin of 2016 also marks the debut of new technology from the Royal Dutch Mint. 

The Proof 2016 silver €5 coin from a series of coins honoring the Wadden Sea will be the first Dutch commemorative coin to feature what the Royal Dutch Mint calls the Line Phase Modulation technique.

The technique was used to highlight seagulls flying over a map of the sea's islands on the reverse of the coin. 

Connect with Coin World:  

In this technique, an existing image is converted to a line pattern. The distance between the individual lines varies, creating the appearance of gray shading. The image is best viewed when tilting the coin, as the wavy lines glitter across the birds in flight.

This coin is part of an annual series celebrating the UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the Netherlands. The 2016 program is the fifth in the series. 

The Wadden Sea is an intertidal zone in the southeastern part of the North Sea. It lies between the coast of northwestern continental Europe and the range of Frisian Islands, forming a shallow body of water with tidal flats and wetlands. It is rich in biological diversity. 

In 2009, the Dutch and German parts of the Wadden Sea were inscribed on UNESCO’s World Heritage List and the Danish part was added in June 2014. The German part was the setting for the 1903 Erskine Childers novel The Riddle of the Sands.

The Wadden Sea coins were designed by Kianoosh Motallebi.

Base-metal and silver examples are denominated €5, and a gold €10 coin completes the program.

On the obverse is a map of the region with identifying place names, along with local wildlife. 

The reverse carries the portrait of King Willem-Alexander. 

You are signed in as:null
No comments yet