Australian medalist captures AMSA's first American Medal of the Year competition

Winner selected from among 29 submissions

The following is a news release written and released on behalf of the American Medallic Sculpture Association by Mel Wacks:

While it took 132 years for an Australian yacht to win the America’s Cup, an Australian medalist has managed to win in the first year of the American Medal of the Year (AMY) competition sponsored by the American Medallic Sculpture Association.

Out of 29 medals entered, only two were not created by Americans — and one of those won — Sic Transit Gloria Mundi (Thus passes the glory of the world) by the venerable Australian medalist Michael Meszaros.

Michael Meszaros indicates that “My thoughts leading to this design were prompted by the arrogance of so many of today’s leaders and politicians combined with a visit to Rome in October 2013.

“With my wife, we spent a lot of time wandering around the forums and other ruins. I had become familiar with them originally in 1969 when I spent seven months there studying at La Scuola dell’Arte della Medaglia.

“Having studied architecture in Melbourne, I am familiar with how many regimes over the centuries have tried to cement their political futures with overblown neoclassical architecture.

“Most of them have collapsed or are much reduced. All these thoughts combined to the design where the ambitious building is on one side and the eventual demise is on the other. I have always liked the idea of a double sided medal with a time lapse between the sides and it seemed to all fall together. 

“Using the Romans own saying for the title shows that even they realized that nothing is forever.”

Collectors interested in this prize-winning 99-millimeter bronze medal, weighing 12.4 oz., limited to 40 pieces, can obtain it from Meszaros for $325 including shipping by contacting him at

Nominations for the American Medal of the Year were invited from medalists, mints, jurors, AMSA members, or anyone else by March 1, 2015, for the preceding calendar year.

You are signed in as:null
No comments yet