2017-S Proof set makes U.S. Mint debut March 29

10-coin set will be the first in more than a decade without a Presidential dollar
By , Coin World
Published : 03/17/17
Text Size

This article comes from our April 2017 monthly issue of Coin World. Want to get all of our content, including special magazine exclusives? Subscribe today !

The 10-coin 2017-S Proof set will go on sale by the U.S. Mint at noon ET March 29. The price of each set is $26.95, with no household ordering limits.

The annual set is the first since 2006 not to include a Presidential dollar.

The 10-year Presidential $1 Coin Program ended in 2016.

The 2017-S Proof set will contain:

➤ A Proof 2017-S Lincoln copper-plated zinc cent.

➤ A Proof 2017-S Jefferson copper-nickel 5-cent coin.

➤ A Proof 2017-S Roosevelt copper-nickel clad dime.

➤ Five Proof America the Beautiful copper-nickel clad quarter dollars: for the Effigy Mounds National Monument, Frederick Douglass National Historic Site, Ozark National Scenic Riverways, Ellis Island National Monument (Statue of Liberty), and George Rogers Clark National Historical Park.

➤ A Proof 2017-S Kennedy copper-nickel clad half dollar.

➤ A Proof 2017-S Native American manganese-brass clad dollar. The reverse of the dollar shows a profiled likeness of Sequoyah writing “Sequoyah from Cherokee Nation” in syllabary along the border of the design.

The two plastic lenses containing the Proof coins are in a storage carton depicting the Washington Monument at sunrise.

Connect with Coin World:  

Sign up for our free eNewsletter
Like us on Facebook  
Follow us on Twitter

You are signed in as:null
No comments yet