ANA adding two more honorees to Numismatic Hall of Fame

Ralph 'Curly' Mitchell, Byron F. Johnson Jr., latest inductees
By , American Numismatic Association
Published : 06/27/16
Text Size

 American Numismatic Association press release announcing the latest inductees to the association's Hall of Fame:

Johnson and Mitchell Inducted into Numismatic Hall of Fame

In recognizing outstanding contributions to numismatics, the American Numismatic Association will induct Historic Era nominees Byron F. Johnson Jr. and Ralph A. Mitchell into the Numismatic Hall of Fame at the 2016 Summer Seminar banquet on Wednesday, June 22, in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Byron F. Johnson Jr.

Byron F. Johnson Jr. was a collector’s collector. A pharmacist by trade and a numismatist at heart, Johnson specialized in exonumia and world minor coinage.

Johnson took a special interest in numismatic exhibiting, and established the use of exhibit classes. He wrote the chapters on exhibiting in the ANA’s Young Numismatist and Intermediate Correspondence Courses, and encouraged novice exhibitors at every turn.

With a passion for tokens and medals, Johnson served the Token and Medal Society (TAMS) as librarian from 1964 to 1966 and president from 1972 to 1974. He also served as an officer in many of the organizations to which he belonged. He served as president of the Organization of International Numismatists (OIN), the Pacific Northwest Numismatic Association (PNNA) and the Seattle Coin Club.

Connect with Coin World:  

Sign up for our free eNewsletter
Like us on Facebook  
Follow us on Twitter

The recipient of the TAMS Distinguished Service Award (1975), and the Medal of Merit (1976), Johnson also received the Numismatic Ambassador Award (1984).

You are signed in as:null
No comments yet