Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee welcomes Roach, Tucker to ranks

Journalists appointed to serve four-year terms
By , Coin World
Published : 02/16/16
Text Size

Steve Roach and Dennis B. Tucker are the newest members of the Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee.

Roach, editor-at-large-for Coin World, and Tucker, publisher for Whitman Publishing Company, participated in their first meeting Feb. 16 reviewing designs for the 2017 Ellis Island National Monument and Effigy Mounds National Monument quarter dollars.

Both Roach and Tucker were nominated by U.S. Mint Principal Deputy Director Matthew Rhett Jeppson. Their appointments to four-year terms were approved Feb. 3 by Deputy Treasury Secretary Sarah Bloom Raskin.

Connect with Coin World:  

Roach, representing the general public, fills the vacancy created by the departure of Gary Marks, whose second four-year term expired in October 2015. Tucker, appointed as a member specially qualified in numismatics, fills the vacancy created by the expiration of the term of Dr. Michael Bugeja.

Steve Roach

Roach holds a bachelor of arts degree in history of art and in organizational studies from the University of Michigan and a law degree from The Ohio State University's Moritz College of Law.

Roach joined the staff of Coin World in 2009 as associate editor and was elevated to editor-in-chief in 2012. Roach moved to editor-at-large in 2015. Roach also operates appraisal and advisory services.

Before joining Coin World, Roach served as a specialist in 19th century European paintings at Christie's; director of the trusts and estates department at Heritage Auctions; a rare coin grader at ANACS; and a rare coin specialist at Heritage.

Roach has been a featured speaker on and instructor in a variety of numismatic specialties.

You are signed in as:null
No comments yet