White House announces intention to nominate Jeppson as Mint director

If approved, would become first U.S. Mint director in more than four years
By , Coin World
Published : 07/10/15
Text Size

President Obama intends to nominate U.S. Mint Principal Deputy Director Matthew Rhett Jeppson to a five-year term as the 39th director of the U.S. Mint, the White House announced July 9.

The presidentially appointed position has been officially vacant since the 38th Mint director, Edmund C. Moy, left the Mint for the private sector in January 2011, eight months before his five-year term officially expired.

After Moy's departure, the Mint's current deputy director for manufacturing, Richard Peterson, alternated between duties as acting Mint director and deputy Mint director.

Jeppson joined the U.S. Mint Jan. 12, 2015, in the newly created position of principal deputy director, having moved over from the Small Business Administration where he served as acting chief operating officer.

Peterson was then given the new title of deputy director of manufacturing, with his responsibilities more focused on coin and medal production.

Oversight of the Mint and the Bureau of Engraving and Printing is currently the responsibility of U.S. Treasurer Rosie Rios.

Jeppson is President Obama's second selection to run the Mint. On Sept. 19, 2012, President Obama nominated Detroit auto executive Bibiana Boerio as the 39th Mint director, and the nomination was referred to the Senate Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs Committee. If the nomination had been reported out of committee it would have come before the full Senate for a vote. Boerio's nomination died at the committee level.

If Jeppson is officially nominated and the nomination given full Senate approval, how much of the five year term Jeppson might serve would depend on a number of factors.

It has been traditional, upon the election of a new president, for presidential appointees of the previous administration to voluntarily tender their resignations. It is up to the incoming president, even if of the same political party, to accept or reject those customary resignations.

Moy, a Republican appointed by President George W. Bush, never submitted a resignation to President Obama upon Obama's swearing-in, in January 2009, for the first of his two four-year presidential terms. Moy remained in office until leaving the Mint for the private sector in January 2011 after being with the Mint since September 2006. President Obama made no movement to appoint a Mint director until Boerio's nomination in 2012.

You are signed in as:null
No comments yet